jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Nov 27, 2022 5:03:45 GMT
Hey there! I'm doing something kind of funky with QB64 -- building a website. :-) So, I have it working locally (you can see my progress here: github.com/jamonholmgren/jamon.dev ). I can run the server, it works, serves up pages. However, in order to host this on my Linux-based VPS (I'm using a DigitalOcean Ubuntu Droplet), I need to install it and build a Linux executable. I have it to the point where it'll show the `./qb64 --help`. That means it's there, it's running. But when I try to compile the simplest program (just "PRINT 1"), it errors with the following cryptic error: ``` Run ./qb64 ../test.bas -c -o ../test_lnx_bin freeglut (./qb64): Error: Process completed with exit code 1. ``` I haven't found much online. Does anyone know what this error means? I've tried to run the `./setup_lnx.sh` file, which doesn't seem to make a difference (same error). I've installed the dependencies manually using apt-get. Still same error. Let me know if you need any more context. Here's a link to the Github action that just failed: github.com/jamonholmgren/jamondotbas/actions/runs/3556761730/jobs/5974345138Thank you! Jamon P.S. I can run this in an Ubuntu virtual machine in Parallels on my Mac and it seems to work fine. I'm curious if this has something to do with the fact that I'm using a ~headless~ non-GUI Linux server.
|
|
|
Post by visionmercer on Nov 27, 2022 16:48:31 GMT
If you use the -x parameter instead of -c then I think it will work. When using -c, qb64 will start up the IDE before compiling and that doesn't work without some kind of desktop environment. -x will compile in the terminal.
|
|
jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Nov 28, 2022 17:18:11 GMT
visionmercer I'm not sure how I didn't notice that option before. Giving that a go, thanks!
|
|
jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Nov 28, 2022 17:37:55 GMT
So, that *does* get me further, in that I can compile! Yay!
...however, it appears that I now have the same problem when trying to run the program. Is there any way to tell QB64 that this is a command-line only program, and doesn't need freeglut / opengl?
``` Run ./test_lnx_bin freeglut (./test_lnx_bin): Error: Process completed with exit code 1. ```
|
|
dbox
Junior Member
Posts: 89
|
Post by dbox on Nov 28, 2022 21:36:54 GMT
Have you tried using the $Console:Only metacommand?
|
|
jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Nov 29, 2022 22:46:20 GMT
I have not, looking into that.
|
|
jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Nov 30, 2022 20:14:57 GMT
It works! Thank you dbox!
|
|
|
Post by eddavis on Nov 30, 2022 22:07:54 GMT
It works! Thank you dbox ! Given that you can compile without needing any of the graphic libs, does that mean it might be possible to install QB64 in WSL on Windows 10?
|
|
jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Dec 1, 2022 18:15:39 GMT
|
|
dualbrain
Junior Member
The only bug free code is code that is no longer used.
Posts: 51
|
Post by dualbrain on Dec 23, 2022 19:32:03 GMT
That's impressive!
|
|
tonylazuto
New Member
Tony Lazuto says hello
Posts: 25
|
Post by tonylazuto on Jan 10, 2023 16:53:54 GMT
It works! Thank you dbox ! Given that you can compile without needing any of the graphic libs, does that mean it might be possible to install QB64 in WSL on Windows 10? jamonYes, QB64 works great in WSL on 10/11. I use WSLg (the newest version) and I get the full QB64 experience for Linux on Windows. If you don't get WSLg, you can still use QB64 with an xserver thing and be able to see the window that way.
|
|
jamon
New Member
Posts: 7
|
Post by jamon on Oct 30, 2023 19:39:52 GMT
|
|
|
Post by bplus on Oct 31, 2023 14:55:02 GMT
This sounds very interesting, something new for me. I assume this can be done on Windows laptop?
I have bookmarked this thread for followup... thanks
|
|
|
Post by Ultraman on Nov 1, 2023 17:53:56 GMT
jamon You can definitely use QB64 in WSL2 and WSLg. I would imagine it would also work in WSL in console mode and using an Xserver viewer like X410 from the Windows Store.
|
|